One of the same

ASSALAMUALAIKUM ~~~~ I haven’t been doing anything lately really.. Just continued reading my book which I left bookmarked at page 90 or so for a couple of weeks… and i finally had the chance to really read it and finish it this few days… I’m not really that much of a book critic, but Cell has got to be one of Stephen King’s best work…

Plot:

The event became known as The Pulse. The virus was carried by every cellular phone operating in the world. Within hours, those receiving calls would be infected.

Clayton Riddell, a young artist, knows he has to reach his son before the young boy switches on his phone. And time is running out.

Like another of my King favourites, The Stand (arguably his best work so far), Cell has that apocalyptic vibe to it…and clearly, this is also a tribute to George Romero, the dude who brought Zombie-fest into the forefront….. so anyways, back to the book.. well, like many of his books, what makes this one so appealing is his storytelling technique and the details he puts into every line, which not only keeps the reader wanting to know more, but to an extent it pulls you in the book itself somewhat as a spectator….. but unlike any of George Romero’s work, this is not merely a mindless zombie-gore-fest.. rather, it is a smartly written character-driven and an emotionally charged novel….the VERDICT…. ..well…. I’m smiling aren’t I

                  goood.jpg

For those who are too lazy to read it… don’t worry coz Dimension Films has acquired rights to the novel with Eli Roth (Hostel I & II) set to direct…..and it will start production probably by the end of 2007…. BUT, changes will be made by Eli to add his own twist to it (with Stephen King’s blessings of course)….. based on Eli’s work such as Cabin Fever, Hostel and the mini Grindhouse trailer, Thanksgiving, I have a feeling he’s going for a more visual FX type of movie for this one… So I’m guessing that you may be missing a lot…so READ THE BOOK!.. haha.. majal…

Orang Kuat Warna ‘ijau

Personally, I thought the Ang Lee-directed Hulk movie that came out a couple of years back sucked…and apparently many agree..what didn’t work for that film was…well…Ang Lee……..like most of his other work, he tried to make the movie artistic, which of course worked amazingly with Crouching Tiger & Hidden Dragon..but with the Hulk, instead of making him simply as the dude who was exposed to gamma rays and turned into an angry green guy, he opted for a more… ‘ooh~ I may be green and angry on the outside, but really, I’m just misunderstood’ kind of feel……Thankfully, Marvel Studios didn’t give up, rather they decided to restart it with the aptly titled THE INCREDIBLE HULK… so what do I know so far about the film.. well, it will be directed by Louis Leterrier (Transporter I & II, Unleashed), Zekk Penn (X-Men movies and yes, he also wrote the previous HULK film..) will screenwrite it….before I go on to revealing who will play Bruce Banner/Hulk.. let me just say, unlike the previous movie.. this WILL be more action packed, which means more destruction from the Hulk and I HOPE, he’ll finally say “HULK SMASH!” like in the cartoons… haha.. ok maybe not… so anyways, the moment that you all have been waiting for.. the lucky guy who will be wearing the torn purple pants will be~

                    ednorthulk.jpg

…..EDWARD NORTON! At first it kinda bummed me out coz Eric Bana (from the 1st movie) did a wonderful job playing Bruce Banner..and besides, he’s Australian.. so OZ OZ OZeeeeh~! Oai Em Ousterayleeun kali ah~ hahaha.. well, at least at heart I am… haha.. so anyways, despite this unfortunate fact, I am happy that Edward Norton will take his place.. he’s got the scrawny/nerdy Bruce Banner look.. and at the same time he can be sucha a badass…I mean check out Fight Club or American History X… so Eddie, do us proud….and to Ang, I suggest you make Brokeback Mountain II: My Horse & I ….. oh I’m jst kidding~ sheesh…

it’s getting late.. so since I’m trying to avoid someone’s parang for sleeping late.. it’s best that I go to bed now.. haha.. heee~ 😀

*UPDATE* 

Iron Man Armor revealed

Here’s a first look at the Iron Man Armor. I know it doesn’t look much, but this is supposedly the ‘Mark 1’ armor which I assume Tony Stark uses to escape from his captors during one of the earlier scenes from the movie… The junky-looking armor actually makes it look awesome coz it makes it more believeable and it is clearly a throwback to the earlier editions of the comic…I wonder how he pees…..hey, superheroes need to go to the toilet too u knw..

Based upon Marvel’s iconic Super Hero, “Iron Man” tells the story of Tony Stark, a billionaire industrialist and genius inventor who is kidnapped and forced to build a devastating weapon. Instead, using his intelligence and ingenuity, Tony builds a high-tech suit of armor and escapes captivity. Upon his return to America, Tony must come to terms with his past. When he uncovers a nefarious plot with global implications, he dons his powerful armor and vows to protect the world as Iron Man.

The film is directed by Jon Favreau (Elf, Zathura) and features an ensemble cast consisting of Robert Downey Jr, Gweneth Paltrow, Terrence Howard and Jeff Bridges. It is expected to be released on the 2nd of May 2008.

                    ironman.jpg

                    besiman.jpg

One Response to “One of the same”

  1. . « ShitSoil Says:

    […] by the legendary Stan Winston, the armor is obviously way advanced looking as compared to the Mark 1 I posted […]

Leave a Reply

